• Picaresque

The Decemberists


Cat. No. JB053

$ 22.00

Double LP



Side A

  1. The Infanta 
  2. We Both Go Down Together 
  3. Eli, the Barrow Boy 
  4. The Sporting Life 

Side B

  1. The Bagman’s Gambit
  2. From My Own True Love (Lost at Sea)
  3. 16 Military Wives
  4. The Engine Driver

Side C

  1. On the Bus Mall
  2. Mariner’s Revenge Song
  3. Of Angels and Angles

Side D - Picaresqueties

  1. The Bandit Queen (With "Dialogue" and "Tap-Dancing")
  2. Bridges and Balloons
  3. Constantinople
  4. The Kingdom of Spain (Version Prescott)
  5. The Bandit Queen (Version Prescott)



A split release with our friends at Kill Rock Stars this release features genuine gatefold LP packaging, just like it was the 60's, with a 24 page, full color booklet glued to the inside of the jacket. The booklet contains all new photographs from the Picaresque photo shoot. The LP also includes Picaresqueties, 5 songs recorded during the Picaresque sessions not to be found on any other Decemberists release.

The Decemberists know that the psychology of a culture at war is complex; that historical archetypes can inform the masses on current events far better than the evening news; and, perhaps most importantly, that life is ultimately a spectacular and colorful pageant. They remind us that, on any given day, we might rub shoulders with rogue spies and runaway prostitutes, child monarchs and vengeful mariners, boy ghosts, couples contemplating suicide, cannibals and drowning angels. This existence is indeed a spectacle to be revered.

In August of 2004, Rachel Blumberg, Jenny Conlee, Chris Funk, Colin Meloy, and Nate Query set up shop at a former Baptist church in Portland, Oregon. With co-producer Chris Walla at the controls, the five musicians collectively known as The Decemberists emerged three weeks later with the bulk of the work completed for Picaresque, their most ambitious and realized effort to date.

Exclusive access to limited releases, special edition colored vinyl, and more fun that you can shake a stick at!