• 854



Cat. No. JB116

$ 8.00




Side A

  1. Seagulls Into Submission
  2. Psych #1
  3. Forget About Tomorrow
  4. Frame We Filled
  5. 854
  6. Mile To Wave
  7. Abby’s Friends

Side B

  1. Everybody
  2. Into The Sun
  3. You Are Your Own
  4. Floating Underground
  5. From A Distance



 For a limited time we're offering a specially priced bundle of Eyelids colored wax - 854 LP (red vinyl) - 12" EP (blue vinyl) - Slow it Goes 7" (green vinyl) - 20 songs in all - now just $30 for all 3! 

EYELIDS have a collective history of creating music for some of the most legendary indie songwriters. These longtime Portland, Oregon collaborators were not only the principal instrumentalists for Robert Pollard's post Guided By Voices band Boston Spaceships for over eight releases, but they have also worked with Stephen Malkmus, The Decemberists, Elliott Smith, Sam Coomes of Quasi, Black Prairie, Jason Lytle of Grandaddy, Loch Lomond, Damien Jurado and Peter Buck (who is producing their upcoming EP this Fall).

Principal songwriters John Moen and Chris Slusarenko have turned inwards to their loves of New Zealand/Flying Nun guitar buzz, their teenage L.A. Paisley Underground obsessions, haunts of early Athens and all things beautiful, lopsided and rock. Along with members Jonathan Drews (guitar), Jim Talstra (bass) and Paulie Pulvirenti (drums) they push and pull against each other's songwriting, in a beautiful tension that just works. Their critically celebrated debut 7” SEAGULLS INTO SUBMISSION got airplay everywhere from BBC Radio to WFMU and was also included in MOJO Magazine's Editors Picks of The Month. This single, as well as the accompanying video, is just a hint of what EYELIDS are all about.

With 13 songs, most of them clocking in at less than 2 1/2 minutes, their debut album ‘854’ is full of what EYELIDS describes as “sweet melodies and bummer vibes”. ‘854’ makes us remember when our favorite songs were both melancholy and buoyant—those same songs that could make you feel justifiably sad and later make you feel incredibly happy and empowered. That’s what these guys are onto. And, although they are on their own trip, they’ve been compared to Love, Dinosaur Jr., Big Star, and even early R.E.M. Good company. This is the spirit that comes alive in EYELIDS songs: the Beatles meets Television jangle of “Psych #1,” the wistful pleas of “Abby’s Friends,” the beat-your-head-on-the-dashboard croon of “Forget About Tomorrow” and the deserted desperate cries that propel “Say It's Alright”. And as you listen, you will soon find out that Eyelids’ music is seriously catchy, haunting and uniquely their own.

Produced by Chris Slusarenko Engineered by Jonathan Drews Recorded with Adam Selzer (The Gossip, The Breeders, Red Fang) and mastered by Carl Saff (Merge, SubPop).

Exclusive access to limited releases, special edition colored vinyl, and more fun that you can shake a stick at!