• A Bird In The Opera House

Nick Jaina

A Bird In The Opera House

Cat. No. JB157

$ 8.00




Side A

  1. Sebastopol
  2. Another Kay Song
  3. Days in My Room
  4. Sleep, Child
  5. I Don't Believe You
  6. Officer Schoppe

Side B

  1. Theresa
  2. Strawberry Man
  3. Semoline
  4. Matrimonial Bed
  5. Asheville
  6. Cincinatti



Vinyl edition is a Series 33 release, limited to 33 copies.  As this is such a limited release our pre-order will be capped at 15 copies, the remainder will be made available at an intimate show here in Portland, OR this May.

In 2009, Nick Jaina was living in a house in Southeast Portland with his friend Lee Howard. Lee had a beautiful studio in the basement and offered to make a record with Nick in the in-between moments, at the times that the studio was otherwise empty, or late at night when Lee wanted to try out a new amp or microphone. Lee lent Nick an old Kay guitar– the kind that Sears used to sell for fifty bucks– and told him to keep it in his room for a week and write five new songs on it. Nick had time to piece together an album gradually, to deconstruct songs and put them back together, to live in them without consequence. The result was A Bird in the Opera House, an intimate album that is positive and upbeat but also rich and dark. It adventures, endeavors, reflects and drifts just like any great story.

This is the first time ever this album will be available on vinyl, limited to an edition of only 33 copies.

Exclusive access to limited releases, special edition colored vinyl, and more fun that you can shake a stick at!