• Echolocation

Fruit Bats


Cat. No. JB095

$ 8.00




Side A

  1. The Old Black Hole 
  2. Glass In Your Feet 
  3. Buffalo & Dear 
  4. Need It Just A Little 
  5. Black Bells (Make Me Ok) 

Side B

  1. Strange Little Neck Of The Woods
  2. Echolocation Stomp
  3. Coal Age
  4. Filthy Water
  5. Dragon Ships
  6. Blue Parachute



Recorded in Chicago in 2001 with producer Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Iron & Wine), Echolocation is the first in the long string of amazing and varied records made by leader Eric D. Johnson. This is the starting point, the songs that had been kicking around looking for a suitable home, and they found it here. With backing from many of the members of Califone, Johnson made a lush and understated record that has stood the test of the 10 years it’s been around. This is it’s first release on vinyl and it’s a perfect marriage of sound and format, with vinyl’s inherent pop’s and crackles only enhancing the back porch at sunset vibe that permeates these songs. "It's that spontaneous trip to the cabin. Sitting by the lake, wrapped in gentle mountain weather. No one else around but those few close friends. Watching deer graze nearby. Every star is exposed. Skinny-dipping in the lake. Crickets whispering to each other. Your marshmellow just fell in the fire. Heavenly and delectable. For the escapist in all of us." - R. Colton. 10 year anniversary edition, limited to 500 copies, hand-screened covers with new album artwork.

Exclusive access to limited releases, special edition colored vinyl, and more fun that you can shake a stick at!